Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Amber1
Level 7
Key West, FL

Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Hi everyone-

I work as a travel writer and my editor has asked that I write a piece on the top things that guests do that Airbnb hosts hate.

Yes, it's a click-bait article but it is for a major publication, so there is some potential here for it to serve as a guide to prevent some of the common things that frustrate us.

After hosting more than 300 guests, I know that NOT READING the description is on my list! 

What's on yours? Thanks in advance!!

32 Replies 32

Challenges with guests.
1. Bleaching or dying their hair in one of my bathrooms and staining our towels.
2. Putting wet shoes in the dryer (at 5:00am and waking up the whole house).
3. People who rent one of our rooms who are terrified of dogs (picture of dog in profile, listing shows dogs live here, mentioned in listing several times, first message to them is to make sure they know we have dogs) and then INSIST on us locking our dogs out of our house while they are here. If someone is scared of dogs don't stay with us.
4. People who request a room and we respond with in 10 minutes and they have already booked elsewhere. Make one request at a time people! Don't waste our time.
5. People who need to modify the dates of their stay and never accept the date modification and then get upset when the room books on the extra day they wanted.
6. Lack of communication. Tell us who is coming (number and names) and when you are going to arrive so we can be ready to serve you.
7. Of course the holy grail... Not reading the listing.

Hope those help. We would love to see the piece you write! V
Amber1
Level 7
Key West, FL

Host who have Minimum night standards- Are people constantly messaging you asking for less than your minimum night requirement? Do you allow exceptions? Thoughts?

Merrill0
Level 3
Oakland, CA