Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Amber1
Level 7
Key West, FL

Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Hi everyone-

I work as a travel writer and my editor has asked that I write a piece on the top things that guests do that Airbnb hosts hate.

Yes, it's a click-bait article but it is for a major publication, so there is some potential here for it to serve as a guide to prevent some of the common things that frustrate us.

After hosting more than 300 guests, I know that NOT READING the description is on my list! 

What's on yours? Thanks in advance!!

32 Replies 32
Brianna0
Level 2
Nashville, TN

Not reading instructions. I have a long description, and important points are all capital letters, and they still don't get it. Complaining, not locking doors, not parking in instructed places, not checking out on time.

How often would you say not checking out on time happens? I don't ever run into that, but then again I have a noon check out.

Also- not locking the doors? Does that happen a lot on average? My boat is in a very safe marina/community and we don't lock anything. I do have people leave hatches open when it might rain!

Jill64
Level 2
Michigan, United States

1. Not reading description.

2. Not reading house rules.

3. Not reading much of anything.

4. See ## 1, 2 and 3!!!!

Seriously, my listing is for a private room within our home. It is very frustrating when guests don't read the listing description. I have cats, and I mention it several times throughout my listing yet I have had people show up and act shocked that I have cats! Now I go through a very time consuming process with potential guests before I allow anyone to book; they must first acknowledge that I have cats and then agree that they are fine with it.  Ugh.