Alberta Related Messages for Hosts (Edmonton and Calgary)

Dave-and-Deb0
Level 10
Edmonton, Canada

Alberta Related Messages for Hosts (Edmonton and Calgary)

Since there are no communities setup yet for Edmonton and Calgary, feel free to post your comments, questions and stories here.

David

Superhost Ambassador ~ Host Club Community Leader ~ Community Expert ~ Experienced Co-Host

21 Replies 21
Kelsey1
Level 1
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Hello Edmonton and Calgary AirBnB hosts. I have a question about Taxes. What do you report to CRA? What do you use as documentation to report to CRA? And where on your taxes do you report it? In addition, do we have to get a small business licence. I am new to reporting, and although Airbnb does not report to CRA, I am being told by everyone that I speak with, that I should indeed report my income from this, the question I have is how and where? And are there any legalities that I am missing looking into (eg local laws?) As far as I have read, only Quebec has very odd rules about AirBnb hosting. 

Until I have some more answers, I have put my hosting on hold.

Many thanks in advance,

Kelsey

Hi @Kelsey1,

This is the first year we will be reporting to CRA in regards to Airbnb but we plan to report it the same way we have reported this property when we had long term tenants.  You need to keep track of your rents and your expenses.  There are also a lot of expenses you can write off.  You will need to complete a T776 which is not too complicated.  This is how we have reported in the past and plan to continue reporting.  Below is the link to the Pdf regarding Real Estate Rentals.

http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/E/pub/tg/t4036/t4036-14e.pdf

David

Superhost Ambassador ~ Host Club Community Leader ~ Community Expert ~ Experienced Co-Host

Kelsey1
Level 1
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada