Failure to flag message

Adam24
Level 1
Seoul, South Korea

Failure to flag message

Dear All,

I'm new to hosting but have been having a great time so far. This is the first issue that I'm unsure how to resolve. This is what happened...

1. Guest inquiry: wanted to pay outside of airbnb
  2. I very politely replied: no, everything goes through airbnb
  3. Guest books (instant booking activated)...
  4. ...but I don't really trust this guest and I don't really feel comfortable with him coming to my home!

He booked one week ago. He's not due to arrive for another three weeks. I didn't flag the message. I know I should have done. It just... never occurred to me! I flagged it just now.

Questions:

1. Do I HAVE TO host this person, even if I feel uncomfortable about them having tried to pay outside of airbnb?
  2. Once airbnb have noticed that the message has been flagged, can I cancel without losing the superhost thing?
6 Replies 6
Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Adam24 There are special waivers for cancelling Instant Book reservations.  You can read this article where they are explained: 

https://www.airbnb.com/help/article/990/how-do-host-cancellation-penalties-work

If you have further concerns about this guest, you can flag their profile using the little flag icon.  That will send it to Airbnb for review.  Or you can discuss directly with Airbnb: 

https://community.airbnb.com/t5/Tips-Tricks/Contact-Airbnb-A-Community-Help-Guide/m-p/16165/highligh...

Would be interested to know how it worked out!

@Clare0

I notice that the Instant Book allowance to cancel penalty free if uncomfortable with guest now has been removed from the article.