Shower leak issue while guests are staying; what should I do

Sepand0
Level 3
Toronto, Canada

Shower leak issue while guests are staying; what should I do

I've been renting out my whole house for the past 2 months. So this is solely a property being used for AirBnB guests and I don't stay there myself. And it's a nice place and the rent isn't cheap, so guests rightly expect everything to go well and the property to be nice.

A couple of weeks ago I saw that the ceiling which is under the top floor shower is bubbling up. Luckily I didn't have guests for 4 days so I Got someone to open it up. We couldn't really find the cause of the problem but thought maybe we had figured it out, addressed the issue, and patched it all up again. Then my last guest reported two days ago that there were drops of water leaking from under the shower! Oh no! And oh no, because she left today and the next guest checked in today, and they're staying here for a month and a half! The family actually lives in the area but are doing renovation on their own house. They saw my place a few months ago and had made their reservation since June.

Now I told them that obviously they can't use the shower anymore. There's one more shower but it's in the basement. Luckily they're only a family of 3 but still, they weren't too happy with the situation, and rightfully so (the son even said very loud and clear "so you're saying we can only use one shower between the 3 of us?", which was a bit too much but still).

Anyways, I told them I'll get a crew to fix it but this is a major job and will take several days. A crew of two or three will have to come and gut the ceiling, fix the pipes (if hopefully they can find the issue), put it back together, paint, etc. That'll take two days. Thankfully the guests are not there during the day and I can ask the repair crew to clean up before they leave so the guests can go about the house as they wish.