Insurance in UK

Kath5
Level 1
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom

Insurance in UK

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to hosting with Airbnb and I'm worried about my insurance. The company I'm with now have never heard of Airbnb and I just can't get anywhere with finding out from them if I need to declare every time I have a guest. Has anyone else had this problem and have you found an insurance company who are able to advise you?

Also, do you declare your income for tax or are hosts allowed to earn a certain amount before needing to declare it.

thank you for any help.

Kath

14 Replies 14
Christopher47
Level 2
Plymouth, MA

@Kath5 I recomended a company to someone who has having similar issues in Israel. It's called Kef International. A colleague has used them in the past...they do homeowners policies and personal liability policies in a lot of countries. I have no vested interest in that company but it is simply one that I know of that a colleague recomended in the past. 

My homeowners insurance in the US didn't immediately recognize Airbnb but when I said "transient guest" they knew what I meant. It may be something local to my state, I'm not sure... but they added a provision to cover me in the event that something happens that Airbnb policy denies or does not cover.

Cheers

Kath5
Level 1

Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your helpful suggestions. I will look into that and see what they say.

Best wishes,

Kath

Victoria57
Level 10
Strathpeffer, United Kingdom