Reduced Cost Housing for Cancer Patients

Laura728
Level 2
Louisville, KY

Reduced Cost Housing for Cancer Patients

Hello all,

My name is Laura, and I am a social worker at the James Graham Brown Cancer Center in Louisville, KY.  I primarily work with patients who have recently received a bone marrow transplant, and must remain in the Louisville area for approximately one month after they are discharged from the hospital (for follow up appointments, etc.).  As you may imagine, a huge barrier to care for our patients is the cost of staying in a hotel for a month after treatment. I am asking that any hosts in the Louisville, KY area interested in offering their Airbnb space at a reduced rate for our patients, please contact me at [personal information hidden]

I thank you in advance!

Laura ***

Oncology Social Worker

James Graham Brown Cancer Center

[Personal information hidden] 

12 Replies 12
Lizzie
Former Community Manager
Former Community Manager
London, United Kingdom

Hello @Laura728,

Lovely to meet you and welcome to the Community Center. It is interesting to hear more about your work and the accomodation situation. It is wonderful that you are looking into improving this and reducing something which must be a worry to your patients.

I would recommend contacting the Airbnb Support Team to discuss this further, as they might be able to provide some suggestions in your area. Here is a Community Guide on the way to do this.  

Also, for safety reasons as your post is publicly visible, I do have to remove your personal information. I hope this is fine with you. 

Best of luck with everything. 🙂

Lizzie

--------------------

Thank you for the last 7 years, find out more in my Personal Update.

Looking to contact our Support Team, for details...take a look at the Community Help Guides.

Hi Lizzie,