Potential Theft

Dan28
Level 2
San Francisco, CA

Potential Theft

Hey all. I hosted a couple this past weekend and noticed a very expensive food item missing from my refrigerator upon my return. I'm a chef and I'm meticulous about items like this. However, the guests are both engineers that work at Apple (they can afford to buy things like this) and seemed super pleasant via text message. I contacted them and they said they didn't see it. However they were in the drawer that this item was in, as I'd noticed other items that were in that drawer were taken out and moved. So, I'm conflicted! Do I report this? It was about 2 pounds of Iberico Ham which sells for on average - $120 per pound. :(. Comments welcomed! 

12 Replies 12
Roger17
Level 10
Thomaston, GA

Hi Dan - this is a tough one.  Is there any possibility that maintenance or pest control folks, or anyone else for that matter may have come in?  If not then the answer seems obvious and I would report it to Airbnb.  That's too expensive to ignore.  Best of luck with a resolution,  Roger

Hey Roger, 

Thanks for the response. No one would have had access to my place at all during their stay, so unless it vanished into thin air, it does seem like there's only one choice. 

David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Nothing much you can do, not likely the Police will be interested.

David

No, nor would I want to involve the police. I was hoping Airbnb might have a creative way of making this right. 

Fred13
Level 10
Placencia, Belize

No. I believe the world is slightly too busy to deal with the theft of 2lbs of ham. Sorry.

Fred, I'm a chef and I make a living at if. It's also a delicacy and worth $230. If you don't have anything positive or useful to say, keep quiet. This is a "community", and your comment isn't part of what a community like this is intended for.
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

Dan

What 'creative way of dealing with it' do you think would be possible?