Pets on the Property

Christina99
Level 3
Columbia Heights, MN

Pets on the Property

I have two little dogs that live in my space, but to be honest if you didn't see me outside with them you would never know they are there. I have a completely separate apartment on the second floor that I've been renting on air bnb for the past 10 months. I replaced the carpet before I started hosting in July 2016 and the dogs have never been allowed upstairs as I want to keep the area pet fur free. Is there a formal definition of what pets on property really means? It would be nice if air bnb could define this as I think it is confusing and might give guests the impression that my dogs roam free everywhere.

Now I see it is a requirement from air bnb for being business ready - although it is not listed anywhere in the actual definition of business ready. I haven't traditionally listed that there are pets on the property because I'm worried that people will get the wrong impression. But the flip side is I don't want to make anyone mad.  Thoughts?

10 Replies 10
Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia

@Christina99

if you rent whole apartment with separate entrance and you live in another apartment in the same building or house than there are no pets on property. Property in this case means the apartment you rent.

It would be different if you rent a room in your apartment or house and you share some spaces (hallway, kitchen, bathroom, livingroom...) with your guests

that makes sense, @Branka-and-Silvia0 , if only it  were so: I rent out a separate apt. from our living quarters, but in terms of full disclosure, when I set up my listing, I checked "cats live on the property", property to me being the whole complex, my living quarters and the apartment, though the animals are definitely not at the apartment. I didn't have the nerve to deny that we have pets.

Last week I found at the bottom of my house rules, done by Airbnb: