airbnb overides my blocked calendar

Rowena29
Level 10
Australia

airbnb overides my blocked calendar

Hi everyone,

I am REALLY hvaing a panic.

I am fairly new to airbnb, but careful and have spent much time on the community boards reading and learning.

I have had my home blacked out over the christmas new year period for several months. We are using ourselves with relatives

Periodically I get an special offer from airbnb suggesting I open up 28 Dec - ! Jan.

usually I ignore.

This morning I clicked "no thanks" and the offer disappeared

A few minutes later I DID activate a special to offer 25% discount on 5 and 6 Dec.

I got an alert to say I had done this and it immediately showed up on my calendar.

I have just recieved an instant book for 28 Dec - ! Jan for a ridiculously low amount on dates I absolutely KNOW were blacked out.

I know enough to know not to cancel myself - I immediatraely rang customer support who have apparenlty escalated to a case manager to look into but they may not call back for some time

I am really hoping they will handle it appropriately with no penalty to me - I assume so.

Regardless, this is extremely stressful, not to mention time consuming,  and really erodes my confidence in the platform. Even assuming it's sorted it still makes me look bad as a host as far as the guest is concerned.

How is this even possible?

Any suggestions/reassurances/insights would be much appreciated. - 

I did a quick search on the community pages and it seems this was a pattern in the US last year for special calendar dates - hosts complaining they were suddenly unblocked and instant booked

I am probably going on a bit, but all very unpleasant especially as I am working so hard to be professional and reliable.

Cheers!

4 Replies 4
Susan151
Level 10
Somerville, MA