My bookings are waaaay down, any advice?

Nikki13
Level 2
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

My bookings are waaaay down, any advice?

Hi I've been doing Airbnb for 14 months, and up til now have been near enough fully booked. My flat is in Bournemouth UK. I get bookings for all sorts of reasons as opposed to just summer hols. This time last year I was booked up til new year. But since end of October I've hardly had any. I'm still getting views on my listing, I've got really good reviews. My pricing is ok, and I'm using smart pricing now to see if that makes a difference. It does say on the website the bookings are 30% down compared to this time last year. I just wondered if anyone else is having the same problem?

Any advice welcome, I just want to know if I should be panicking or not. Does anyone else list with other sites?

Thanks

Nikki

7 Replies 7
Marie312
Level 2
Oakland, CA

I am also way down and I am close to San Francisco. For the month of December I brought my prices down but still no bookings. 

I am thinking it is our election and folks are nervous but that wouldn't affect you. 

Good luck.

Marie

Nikki13
Level 2

Hi Marie

Well it's interesting that you say that. We had the whole Brexit thing this year and it seems trade has been down in general ever since.

Fingers crossed things pick up for all of us soon.

Nikki

David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Last year you may have benefited from the new host bump.

Have you noticed more competition, it has been a looooong time since I was in Bournemouth, you said that you had bookings last year, did you notice why they were staying with you, would any of that change.

There are many alternatives to AirBnb, they are all different in how they operate, not sure if one is more popular than others when it comes to your area, type of listing.

David
Tim15
Level 2
Salisbury, United Kingdom