Have you ever pretended you're guests and stayed in your own place(s)?

Susan1028
Level 10
Oregon, US

Have you ever pretended you're guests and stayed in your own place(s)?

....and if you did, what did you notice, learn, change?

18 Replies 18
Paul1255
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Hi @Susan1028 I do this on the regular at my place...as the private room I rent on Airbnb is actually also my main bedroom when I don't have guests- so I have always lived the guest experience!

Living from the guest point of view made me purchase the most comfortable bed I could afford, made me dust the top of the glass light fitting as you can see the dust when you're lying in the bed, made me add extra heating as the room has 2 windows and can get chilly.

It really made me think about the space and the way the whole space is used BEFORE I even welcomed my first guest, which allowed me to iron-out the creases without using those first guests as testers!

I also work as a co-host with hosts in London- for properties I take-over and manage full-time I always offer the owner to spend a night/day in their space to see things as a guest, make recommendations on how to improve before launching- it really works a treat!

I have uncovered things like not having enough bins, hanging space/hooks, improving bedroom and living room layout, adding items to the kitchen offering that were missing, adding extractor fans in the bathroom, changing door locks....the list could go on.

Have you done the same?

Paul 🙂

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Paul1255 @Susan1028

Paul, I have always said here on the CC, when you word your listing description do it with an aquaintance, someone you know, but are not familiar with. Strangers will see your property in an entirely different light. Things that to us (through familiarity) are obvious will be seen differently by a stranger.

Always put yourself in the shoes of the guest.