Food Safety Regulations Scotland

Lydia158
Level 2
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Food Safety Regulations Scotland

I'm a new host - just started end of May '18 but have had almost exclusively good experiences thus far and am seeing if I can take advantage of the community's collective knowledge! 
I'm a pretty good cook (if I do say so myself) and would like to offer home-cooked meals for weary travellers - dinner any day and lunches on the weekend - as an additional extra.
I'm happy enough to do a wee bit more research and try to figure out the regulations I'd need to comply with but a quick skim of the Scottish government websites has made me think it's not going to be terribly straightforward to find out exactly what's required, in terms of food safety and hygiene regs (I already have REHIS Food Hygiene certificate)  as well as any licensing. Does anybody happen to already know this information or would they be able to point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Lydia

3 Replies 3
Kathie21
Level 10
England, United Kingdom

In England food safety registration is dealt with by the local council - I'm guessing Scotland will be the same.  I'm just going through the process.  I didn't have a food hygeine qualification so I did one online, then filled out an online firm saying what I was planning to do, and they sent me a letter saying I was now registered and pointing me to the Safer Food Better Business pack, which I have printed off and am working through. Lots of it doesn't apply to me (a smallholder making veggie frozen meals from surplus, for local sale), but some does, like keeping freezer temperature records and having cleaning schedules).  At some point (by appointment) the guy from the council will come and inspect my kitchen and my records to give me a rating.  He was very helpful on the phone - we discussed what my kitchen was like in terms of work surface materials, sinks etc and he seemed to be satisfied with that.  

Julia66
Level 10
Scotland, United Kingdom