First Guest Review: skip or give honest feedback

Justina62
Level 2
Kaneohe, HI

First Guest Review: skip or give honest feedback

I am new to hosting. We just completed our first Airbnb hosting. The guest reviewed us today; and we are unsure if we should write a review or skip it. The reason to skip it is that the guest left a purple hair shampoo/dye ring stain on the enameled bath tub. I tried to clean it several methods but it will not come out and we now need to re-surface the bathtub. We will likely seek Airbnb payment for the repair. It is disappointing and a headache. The guest also didn’t follow the rules and had unauthorized guests—at least one stay the night and another time 4-5 people come over and it got loud and chaotic according to a neighbor that called me. I eventually pieced together the 4-5 visitors were to assist with the birth of the guest’s baby, and from what I can gather she planned to give birth at the rental but ultimately needed to go to the hospital; so unusual circumstance. The house was left dirty and somewhat messy after 3 month rental such as stained towels, blue watercolor paint splashed on a floor, chair upholstery stain, and a thin layer of glitter I can’t get clean from the front porch. Lesson learned for me is to get a cleaner in at least once a month to routinely care for the house while renters are there. I don’t want retaliation or a bad review (it will be our first review) so let me know what I should consider about writing a review or skipping it. Help me calibrate my expectations—is this a normal and expected state of a rental as part of doing business, or is it worthy of bad feedback about my experience hosting the guest?

10 Replies 10
Mike-And-Jane0
Level 10
England, United Kingdom