Remedy against host fatigue

Till-and-Jutta0
Host Advisory Board Alumni
Stuttgart, Germany

Remedy against host fatigue

We are hosting since 5 years. It's fun, and work, sometimes exhausting.

We print out all reservations and stick them on a blackboard, ordered by date. This helps us to get q quick overview about all coming guests. The print-out includes the rate paid.

I just found an effectice remedy against host fatigue: If it should happen that I say, that - despite all social positive aspects of hosting - "oh another guest will check-in tomorrow..." a quick glance to the rate at the right time might work wonder. Try it!

I know, we don't do it just for money. Money is not enough compensation for all the effort we do. But sometimes it's a comfort.

8 Replies 8
Carrie0
Level 3
New York, United States

do you take any time off from hosting?  i've been doing this for over 3 years and am getting tired of cleaning and greeting and repeating myself.  i try to take one month off every year to catch up on sitting at my apartment at night doing nothing and inviting friends over.

Deborah0
Level 10
California, United States

garden image.pngI think one of my remedies, is to look at my front garden, and imagine it from a guest's eyes.  Someone new, seeing this for the first time.  It seems to always delight me that I can look at my garden newly, imagining it through the eyes of someone just arriving.  I seem to welcome myself to my own home this way.  

That is a beautiful idea! Thank you!

Keith0
Level 9
Calgary, Canada

Since before Airbnb we always took in guests and wanderers and strays and outcasts. Sometimes it would feel that our home did not belong to us. This is a lousy feeling - that we do not belong in our own home.