Writing an unfavourable review or staying silent

Fiona374
Level 2
Sydney, Australia

Writing an unfavourable review or staying silent

I have been hosting successfully for nearly two years with mostly great guests and a few very untidy ones. This case was different.

Dorothy, her husband and her family of two adult children and a large hairy dog stayed in my beach-side home for 3 weeks before moving into their own new home. Unfortunately they did not respect my home: Clean up was far beyond the usual, they left a big mess, kitchen with dirty plates put back in the cupboard,  chewing gum in the dishwasher, everything re-arranged, other things missing or damaged. Elsewhere there were spills and splashes on walls and surfaces including carpet, filthy toilets with faeces splashed about, fingernail clippings left in both bedrooms and the hallway, almost all linen and towels had stains needing soaking. Not all was permanent and of course can be cleaned but it is evidence of the disrespect. They certainly didn't leave it the way it was found.