Is there a way to filter out local guests?

Elena608
Level 2
Tampa, FL

Is there a way to filter out local guests?

I have been hosting for several months now and find that 80% of guests who live locally  and book my property are end up in nothing but problems. I wonder if there is a way to filter out local guests, and if there isnt, can we please look into adding such feature?

Here is why, a few such scenario included

-prostitution: got a few of those looking for a space to conduct their business.

-the guest being kicked out  of the house by the spouse for being drunk and disorderly and ended up in my house behaving the same.

-local young people (in theyr late 20) looking for a place to take their under age girlfriends.

-People dumping their unwanted guest on me because they could not deal with their family member  cooking very smelling etnic food in their kitchen.

To simplify this, generally speaking if local people dont have friends or family wanting to put up with them, i should not have to either. Since they leave locally, it is uncomfortable to leave a bad review after the fact, because now they know where I live and it is very easy for them to come back and cause a confrontation (we are not talking about the finest here...) I would rather filter out the entire group, and miss out on the few legit reservation than having to endure another such scenario. Not to mention that If I cancel the reservation it reflects bad on me as a host, so something needs to be done to prevent the issue all together.

Any thoughts?

7 Replies 7
John1574
Level 10
Providence, RI

@Elena0

I'm not sure how to answer your question.  I doubt there is a filter you can use.

However, if you have instant booking turned on it will be difficult to screen any guests.

Without instant booking you will have to field inquiries and at that point you can develop techniques for filtering those you don't want and try to steer them elsewhere.