Inconsiderate Guests Waking up Children

Helen151
Level 2
Auckland, New Zealand

Inconsiderate Guests Waking up Children

So I am kinda new to Airbnb - we have hosted 11 trips so far and all have been great except for the one we are hosting now. 

They arrived last night and were fairly rude on arrival but I persisted on being kind. They are outrageously demanding - their daughter asked if she could stay also as it was now too late for her to go home (she also wanted power adapters and phone chargers) it was only 9.30 at this time and I did offer to take her home but she said no she wanted to stay here.  Next they all took 20 minute showers - in total the shower was on for just over an hour. Then the noise started. I actually have no idea what they were doing but doors were slamming and I mean slamming every 2-3 minutes. The front door was being slammed our carport door was being slammed (they were hanging out washing) - this went on till 11.15pm (At 10:15 they text me asking me if I was asleep as they would like a hairdryer) Moreover they woke not one, but two of my children. One was extremely distressed and took me 2 hours to resettle. They now want me to take them to University this morning as they have no cash and no bus card. I am beyond annoyed with them and really think they should go to a hotel if they are going to be this inconsiderate.

What are my options? My house rules state that we have kids and to be considerate with noise but really I never have had to deal with anything like this. 

13 Replies 13

You are the host and it is your house - tell them "No, I'm so sorry but I am not able to take you to the University.  Please call a cab. "  

Then remind them that you have children and you cannot have a repeat of last night's noise.  Hopefully you charged them for the additional room as you have noted in your listing since their daughter stayed overnight.  Your listing says the washer and dryer are off limits so what were they hanging outside?