I suspect an extra guest stayed in my place

Katherine30
Level 1
Salt Lake City, UT

I suspect an extra guest stayed in my place

I am fairly new to hosting on Air BnB. I started hosting last month and have had 3 reservations so far. Everyone has been very respectful and clean, so no complaints there.

However, I suspect a guest I had this weekend who was traveling alone had at least 1 extra guest stay with him at my apartment. I left him 4-5 guest bath towels, all of which were used when I returned. The guest was only here for 36 hours. Now, I'd like to give him the benefit of the doubt...it was a super hot weekend here in DC, so maybe he really did shower 5 times in two days, in which case his only fault would be being wasteful (using 4-5 clean towels for 1 person). Because I was suspicious, I checked the shower drain carefully for long hairs and did find a few. He was a single guy attending a wedding in the area, so it's possible he brought someone back from the wedding overnight, which is gross to think about, but whatever, that's why I have separate guest sheets...

Should I ask him if he had extra people stay with him, or just let it go? I don't want to come off as accusatory, and I don't know if I have any recourse in this situation, or if I should even bother. (I do charge for extra guests). Thoughts from more experienced hosts?

4 Replies 4
Geneviève9
Level 8
Montreal, Canada

I think I would just let it go - it happened to me before and as frustrating as it was, that is what I had decided to do.  Nothing was broken or damaged, so I had decided I would rather have the good review than a fight 😉

Dusty2
Level 2
El Paso, TX