Guest Cancellation the day before. How does it work?

Samuel32
Level 1
Chicago, IL

Guest Cancellation the day before. How does it work?

Hi everyne, 

I am new to Airbnb as a host and I honestly would appreciate feedback from hosts and guests who may have more experince than me. 

I just had a guest cancel her reservation to stay at my place for 1 night. She was supposed to arrive tomorrow and stay from Saturday- Sunday. My cancellation terms were set as "Flexible" with check in time: 2pm -6pm and check out time: noon. The guest cancelled at 5:27 pm. 

I'm assuming I don't get paid for this cancellation since it was within the check in time frame? or was she supposed to cancel before 2pm today in order to get her full refund from Airbnb. I am really not sure how it works since this was going to be my very first guest.

Would appreciate feedback. I already read the cancellation policies but I'm still confused. 

Sam

7 Replies 7
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

It would be counted as the day before she was due to check in, I see you have upgraded to Moderate.

David

David thanks for the reply!

Yes I changed it after that because I don't want to make preparations and end up with a cancellation last minute. So in this case there is no charge to the guest correct? Aka I don't get paid the first night.

That is my understanding and why I also changed.

Be aware that ABB seem to want to move everyone to more flexible terms.

David

My policy is strict. If there is an issue the guestis forced to communicate with me, not just run away! I willoften just pay a refund myself if there is a change of arrangement, it's easier and doesn't go on the the Airbnb records. But the guest has to be forced into the negotiating position. THEN you can extend flexibility as you see fit in your terms.