Can I change the price before accepting a request?

Answered!
La35
Level 2
Lanham, MD

Can I change the price before accepting a request?

I am new to airbnb and received my first request, which is for 2 nights and 2 people. I accepted this request and I'm fine to honor the price.

Then I got my second request, for 1 night and 2 people. I realized that I could charge a cleaning fee and an additional person fee and weekend rate.

For the second request, I want to update the pricing before accepting - is this something I can do without penalty? As the guest can change the reservation, wondering if I Should contact them first about the pricing, or just make the changes? Or do I need to decline, then make changes?

Please let me know!

1 Best Answer
Mike1034
Level 10
Mountain View, CA

@La35 If it is a booking request instead of a booking inquiry, you cannot change the price since those dates are blocked. If you change the base price which those blocked dates use, I think that it will not affect those either.

You can put your listing on snooze or inactive status when you make price change. Therefore, you have plenty of time to make them right. Otherwise, it will make you look bad once a guest finds the price prior to the booking and after the booking is hugely different.

View Best Answer in original post

17 Replies 17
Ana1136
Level 10
Ohrid, Macedonia (FYROM)

@La35 you can send special offer with the changed price explaining why you are doing that but does it really make that much of a difference for a 1 night booking? I would just go with it and try to get as many positive reviews in the beginning as possible. 

Thank you Ana! Appreciate the guidance.

Mike1034
Level 10
Mountain View, CA

@La35 If it is a booking request instead of a booking inquiry, you cannot change the price since those dates are blocked. If you change the base price which those blocked dates use, I think that it will not affect those either.