House insurance

House insurance

I live in Australia and have just listed my house for hosting via air bnb. I can see Airbnb insurance provides public liability type insurance fur guests, however I'm struggling to understand what type of cover it provides me for property damage, for example if there was a fire or water damage caused by guests. 

Can anyone help? 

20 Replies 20
Mike19
Level 2
Pilana, Sri Lanka

The AirBnB cover is partial at best. You need specific cover and I have been working with IAG for 12 months to get this product up and running:

Insurance for AirBnB Hosts

Thanks for the support Mike!

The ShareCover Team

Hi Mike

I am interested in getting specific insurance for Airbnb. Have you made any progress with IAG and is this in England? There is a company called Sharecover in Australia that allows you to pay for insurance cover per night for guests staying. This sounds perfect and a great opportunity for some insurance companies to make a lot of extra income. As I'm only letting my house for a few weeks a year I didn't want to have to take out a big extra insurance policy. I'm also nervous as to whether taking guests from Airbnb would negate my house insurance for the rest of the year? Hope you can help

Jude

This seems to be just an Australia policy?  not in USA and you would have to buy it every time?

I am confused too, can someone actually explain what Airbnb cover does provide for hosts...

ie if the guest is hurt in your home are they covered for medical and claims against host for liability?

if they burn the house down what is the coverage?

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Danielle8  Hi Danielle I did a post about just this topic a couple of days ago but it seems to have flown under the Radar so....I will paste here so you cab see what my experience has been re insurance.....and Danielle I am from Australia so this is relevant to you