rules about pets

Linda466
Level 2
Kelseyville, CA

rules about pets

My site specifically says no pets.  However, I just got an inquiry, one for a discount for the weekend which is not acceptable and two, they want to bring a small dog.  There were no reassurances the dog is house trained and will not be left in the apt while they are gone.  How does one tactfully handle such inquiries?  I was clear there are no discounts (esp for 2 nights) and I was willing to consider the dog...now I'm not so sure that's a good idea.   The apt has expensive leather furniture.  I did say the dog has to be with them all the time.  I'm new to this and still finding out how to set limits without scaring away future customers.  Lu

8 Replies 8

@Linda466

I think it's important to stick to your own house rules. If you don't respect your own house rules (that you made), then no one else will. It's better to "scare away" the guests who haggle and do not respect your house rules - because chances are they will probably end up being more trouble than what they pay you. 

That is a great reminder.  Thank you.  I have declined the reservation.  I do not want pets in the apartment and will stick with that now.  

Clare0
Level 10
Templeton, CA

@Linda466  Here's another thing to consider: What if future guests rely on your "no pets policy" because there are allergy issues?  Although I also have a  no pets policy, I recently had a reservation request asking me to confirm that no pets have been on the propety because their daughter has severe allergic reactions to fur.  The prospective guests will think that your place is safe based on your policy and might book with you only to discover that you yourself have violated your own rules.  They wouldn't necessarily ask you about it if they had allergies since your listing says no pets.  Then they arrive and have issues.  That would be a real bummer! If you say no pets, you should stick to it. 

@Linda466