reservation showing as cancelled

Krista23
Level 1
Auckland, New Zealand

reservation showing as cancelled

Hi there, I'm not very happy at all at the moment. I set up a second listing for my house, to rent the whole place out while on holiday and the listing defaulted to instant book! I don't think this should be possible.
I then got a confirmed booking when I didn't expect to and politely asked the guest to cancel, explaining that I'm new to this and hadn't realised anyone could auto-book by default. He was happy to do this but was then charged twice by Air BNB. And then I get an automatic review and a message saying my listing is "at risk" because I cancelled when I didn't, he did! If he wasn't happy to cancel I would have been prepared to honour the booking. 
None of this makes any sense. Can anyone tell me what went wrong here or if they have experience similar?
7 Replies 7
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Krista23

The guest sent you a 'request to cancel' which you accepted and you should never do - it means that they put the blame for the cancellation on you and you get penalised. It's quite a sly and sneaky email that comes through which makes it seem like it is guest initiated and everyone is happy. Never ever accept a cancellation request - let the guest handle the entire process.

contact Airbnb and see if they will understand the situation and reverse the penalties 

as for the guest being being charged twice I am not sure how that can happen. They will need to speak to Airbnb if they have been charged twice - which I doubt.

>>The guest sent you a 'request to cancel' which you accepted and you should never do - it means that they put the blame for the cancellation on you and you get penalised<<

It was his fault, not the guest's. If the guest had cancelled (and accepted blame) he/she would have lost the booking fee, surely?

And all new listings are set to IB by default. 

Krista23
Level 1
Auckland, New Zealand