House Rules - getting it right from the start

Rhonda58
Level 4
Donegal, Ireland

House Rules - getting it right from the start

Hi everyone - 

I'm brand new to hosting on Air BnB.  For a number of years I've rented my house to friends with great results.  Last week I took the plunge to list my place on Air BnB.  

After reading through the various posts on the community forum, I've created a rather long house rules on my listing.  I don't want to scare people away, but the comments I've seen by my fellow hosts have made me wary.  It seems it's better to go a bit overboard rather than not be clear from the very beginning.  

I was wondering if someone would mind looking at my house rules to see if they seem appropriate?  Many thanks in advance for any comments and suggestions.

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/18664935?s=51

7 Replies 7
Kimberly54
Level 10
San Diego, CA

Hi @Rhonda58,  I think you did a great job! (and the location sounds amazing!)  One thing that I might add--if you want it--is a 'lights out' or no noise after some reasonable hour.  As for kitchen/laundry... how much do you want them doing?  I've read a TON of posts from hosts complaining about kitchen clean-up, etc. 

That's about all I saw.  I loved your, "This is our home; not a hotel" and "if you have any questions about the difference, please ask" (paraphrasing from memory).  I'm actually going to update mine.  I like the language you've used.

Best,

Kim

@Kimberly54, Thanks so much for your suggestions!  I have included some of your suggestions into my house rules.  Great ideas!

I appreciate your taking the time to read through my house rules.  

Kind regards,

Rhonda

P.S.  The location is amazing.  Truly magical, even when it rains. 

Kelly149
Level 10
Austin, TX

@Rhonda58 good for you for considering rules before you need them!