Guests who don't communicate their approximate arrival time.. guests who just plan don't communicate

Joa1
Level 10
Puerto Escondido, Mexico

Guests who don't communicate their approximate arrival time.. guests who just plan don't communicate

I am writing this the night before I have a booking for yet another guest who has not replied to my requests for an approximate arrival time.  I am finding that this is happening with people who have recently joined Airbnb.  It is a very frustrating experience to have to leave a whole day free, just "in case" the guests show up.

I've been hosting for a few years now, and have noticed a change in many of the guests who have booked with me in the past year.  I joined Airbnb as a host because I wanted the communication factor that Airbnb fostered.  Now, I'm finding that many of my guests are treating my place as a hotel with personalized service, at a fraction of the cost.  They make their reservation,  don't respond to my messages, and then expect to show up "sometime" on their arrival date.   I make it very clear upon check-in that if my guests have any issues, problems or needs to please communicate them to me so I can resolve them.  Rather than doing that, if some of my guests have a problem they say nothing, and then give me a poor review.  Which brings up another thing that I am feeling dissatisfied with about the "new" Airbnb.  The emphasis that is being put on getting 5 star reviews is over the top at this point.  As a host you can bend over backward to try to please your guests and make their stay a great experience,. But you are going to get some people who just aren't happy with you, or their choice to book your place, and give you a negative review.  

I don't want to sound like I am a complainer, and am dissatisfied with the whole Airbnb philosophy.  I just wish that that "philosophy" was emphasized more when people join Airbnb as travelers.

23 Replies 23
Elena87
Level 10
СПБ, Russia