Guest Brings Unauthorized Visitor

Cate20
Level 2
Bury St Edmunds, GB

Guest Brings Unauthorized Visitor

So I've been hosting for six months and since I adjusted my prices to include a small extra charge for an extra person, Ive had two bookings where the people invoved book a single adult but with full intention of bringing their partners. How can this awkward situation be avoided in the future? Is there any way that I can flag up that my room costs more for two people than for one?

Thanks

cate

19 Replies 19
Marzena4
Level 10
Kraków, Poland

Each gest's itinerary clearly states the number of guests, @Cate20. If the number is higher than the reservation, you don't have to host... under the law.

// "The only person you can trust is yourself"
Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Cate20 Hi Cate, when a guest books, the number of guests is shown on the reservation confirmation. If you know an additional guest/s will possibly be coming, message the guest and say. 

"One of the great things about Airbnb is the protection scheme it offers for hosts and guests. However this protection scheme is only offered to registered guests and as such I can only accept  guests that Airbnb includes on the reservation confirmation. To do otherwise puts me in an untenable position and I am sure neither you or I would want to take that risk. Can I please ask you to amend your guest numbers so we can all sleep easy and enjoy the experience. Thanks for your cooperation"!

Cate, that statement in not techniocally correct but, it sounds plausible and accurate. I have used it a couple of times and it has got the required response.

Cheers.....Rob

Cate20
Level 2
Bury St Edmunds, GB

Perfect thanks @Rob0 thats very helpful:)

Robin4
Level 10
Mount Barker, Australia

@Cate20   Good luck with that Cate...incidentally my tag is  @Robin...but you got the meaning of what I was saying and that's the main thing.