Check out time versus departure time

Stephanie179
Level 2
Alexandria, VA

Check out time versus departure time

Good morning, 

I'm new to hosting and just had my second set of guests stay last night for 1 night in a "private room w/bath" in my home.  They've checked out on AirBnB but haven't left the house--I can tell because my coded door lock will let me know when a code is entered so I messaged the guest and asked her to turn off a light "if she hadn't left yet."  She responded she would.  So here's my question...does check out when it's a private room mean just check out from the room or does it mean to leave the house?  I'm at work and not there, but still I thought when guests "checked out" they actually left the premise completely. 

Thanks

Stephanie

10 Replies 10
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

Check-out time means they vacate your property by that time.

One of your listings says Check Out at 11:00AM, but the Master Bedroom listing does NOT list a check-out time.  You'll want to add the check-out time to that listing, otherwise, there isn't "really" a rule regarding when guests HAVE to leave.

Thanks for pointing out the one listing is missing a check out time...I'll fix that ASAP!  

These guests were in the other room listed.

I understand "check out time" means when they vacate the property. But what if I get an email through AirBnB they have "checked out" but I find they haven't actually left the premises.  Or what triggers the email saying a guest has checked out?

Again, thank you for pointing out the lack of a check out time on the other room.

Stephanie