Catastrophic Error ;)

Peter890
Level 5
Prague, Czech Republic

Catastrophic Error ;)

Hi all,

Recently had a great guest, left us a perfect set of 5 stars in ever category and a 5 star overall review.

Except that all the stars in the overall rating were dark, not light. So it was a zero star review. All the individual ratings (location, cleanliness etc) were correctly reported as 5 stars but the overall rating was zero.

When I asked he aplogised profusely and said either he or the system made a mistake. When I spoke to airbnb they said nothing can be done. I complained quite hard as the guest said in messaging that this was a mistake and they could precisely see this. I hit a blank wall of indifference from airbnb "the system doesn't allow it". As an ex programmer I know that changing it is a 30 second job in the database - so when they say "it can't be done" what they really mean is "we won't do it" 😉

As a superhost we do care about reviews. And airbnb encourage us to care about it even more with the new requirement to achieve 4.8 to maintain superhost. I don't expect airbnb to arbitrate on disputed reviews (you know the ones, 5 stars in every category then 4 stars overall!) as that would be a fools errand. But to not correct an obvious human or system error is more like negligence...

Anyone have any experience to relate?

And one little UI question, when guests fill in ratings does it default to zero stars?  Or does it recognise that no stars given (no click) means no review, not a zero star review?

To say I am extremely unhappy about this understates the situation quite dramatically 😉

Peter

10 Replies 10

@Peter890

Of course it is all crazy...but the clear answer is...they just do not have the people available to make these changes.

Maybe when they give Superhost the 100 dollars travel credit  reward in one hand they should let them use that credit against non existant customer service in the other...

Peter890
Level 5
Prague, Czech Republic