Cancelation of an instant booking

Selim-Mawad0
Level 2
Beirut, Lebanon

Cancelation of an instant booking

Hello guys,

i am new to airbnb and i started on the wrong foot. I was toying with the website and listing my house. I did not read all regulations (my fault) and before completing my listing i decided to leave it for another time. To my surprise booking (instant booking) start coming through while i was still under teh impression that my house is not listed since i was not given any chance to save my work or even confirm the listing. 

Now i have two reservations with a conflcit of one day and another one during a period when i wish not to rent my place. The guests agreed to the cancelation as long as i do it myself. I have been told that the first cancelation does not have any penalty but it will impact my visbility. Could you please give some advise? 

Cheers 

6 Replies 6
Nancy83
Level 2
Plymouth, MA

Hi, I had a similar thing happen to me.  I had two listings, and did not block out the date on one after the other had a reservation.  I was also asked to cancel by the people wanting to reserve the space.  I did that and it affected my standing.  No big deal, just annoying that when future people look under reviews it says I cancelled out a reservation within __ days of the time wanted.  Lesson learned.  Now as soon as one reservation comes in I block the other calendar.  It is reasonable that this happened to someone newly hosting as it can be confusing.  Also, word of advice, if you go with the instant booking you will proably get slammed with one reservation after the other.  That happened to me and it was great as far as the money.  Alot of work if you are cleaning and doing laundry yourself!  Good luck!  Nancy

Josiba0
Level 1
Tirana, Albania