5 stars in all categories but 4 star stay?

Bex1
Level 6
La Feuillée, France

5 stars in all categories but 4 star stay?

I don't understand how a guest can leave 5 stars in all categories, plus a lovely review, but it comes up as 4 stars.  Am I missing something?

58 Replies 58

@Colleen426  Ha- funny you picked up on the American vs. Canadian thing. I was born and raised in Kansas City, but left back in '67 when I graduated high school. Went to Israel and did the kibbutz thing for awhile, hooked up with a Vietnam draft dodger there and because he couldn't go back to the US, we ended up in Canada. That relationship didn't last long, but I ended up staying in Canada, where I lived for about 40 years. Just up the road from you, in Courtenay.  But yeah, now I live in Mexico, although I still come back for a few weeks in the summer- kids and grandkids up there.

That constantly saying you're sorry is a weird one for sure, that still cracks me up. Someone passes within half a meter of you in the Thrifty's aisle and says "Oh, sorry". As if they are intruding on your personal space. I always feel like asking, "What are you sorry for? Existing on the same planet?" 

Michelle571
Level 2
L'Estartit, Spain

So, I also got 5 star ratings for everything, a good written review and then a 4 star for overall...??? I thought wait a minute what's that all about (well, that was a polite version of what was actually said!!) So I Googled it and found this message thread... So 2022 the same thing is happening?? Airbnb haven't seemed to have listened to all your valid comments since 2019. Totally unfair. I like the previous suggestion that Airbnb should automatically ask "are you sure you want to leave a 4 star after giving 5 stars for everything"???