Is Airbnb illegal in Singapore?

Montinee0
Level 1
Singapore

Is Airbnb illegal in Singapore?

Given the law surrounding short-term rental in Singapore for public housing, what are the laws for condominiums? I did a lot of search and could not find anything concrete. The only thing I found was a 'guideline' stating that one should not do short-term rental as it may disturb neighbours. 

I want to ensure that putting a place on Airbnb - whether it is 1 out of 3 rooms or all 3 out of 3 rooms to a Condo that a Host may rent or own, abides the laws here. 

99 Replies 99
Kaiesh0
Level 1
Singapore

Hi Montinee,

I have attempted to previously clarify this with the URA, and the feedback that I received was that it is indeed considered illegal.

The government has apparently been in discussions with AirBnB and other similar services, but I have not seen anything published as a result of those discussions.

Thanks,

K

Linda116
Level 1
Singapore

Hi, I've been hosting since Jan 2016.  A couple of friends also warned me against short term rental being illegal in Singapore. Has anyone else got any idea about this?  Or have made enquiries with HDB? 

I saw this article:

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/two-lose-hdb-flats-renting-them-tourists

Julie74
Level 2
Singapore

I just hosted one guest in June in my private apartment. I am temporarily delisting mine as I heard HDB/URA is currently checking on Airbnb listings. Anyone else heard of this?

Idzwan0
Level 2
Singapore

Read this: https://www.quora.com/Is-Airbnb-legal-in-Singapore

I believe the URA laws are just guidelines to protect the private property community.

These guidelines were meant to prevent private properties from turning into brothels, gambling dens, drug houses, etc.

You can read it any way you want but these are my views on the matter.

Your neighbours have every right to question their security due to the different guests appearing in and out of your homes.