What to provide?

Fiona917
Level 2
Bicheno, Australia

What to provide?

Just a quick question, I provide multiple different tea, sugar, hot chocolate and I have a breville espresso coffee machine and provide ground coffee.  I have just had a guest in and left feedback that maybe I should consider providing instant coffee, what are people’s thoughts?? Also should I be providing milk?  I’m very new at this so I would appreciate any suggestions, thanks 😊

16 Replies 16
Guy991
Level 10
Sintra, Portugal

Hello @Fiona917 ,

Absolutely! I make sure to provide everything you've mentioned, including Nescafé (as some guests prefer it over the Nespresso capsules I provide), along with olive oil, cooking oil, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar. Additionally, I leave a big bottle of water and a small long-life milk as a starter kit. I understand that after a long trip, guests don't want to rush to the grocery store right away. It's crucial that any drinkable liquids like water and milk are sealed and unused before.

Occasionally, I include seasonal fruits, and always bananas: nutritious and visually appealing. Guests prefer fruits with skins (not apples).

To truly impress guests, consider adding something locally made, like chocolate, sweets, or cookies, especially for foreign guests arriving directly from the airport. As the first person they encounter besides the taxi driver, this gesture is memorable.

emphasis that by this you are supporting also local businesses. 

In my case, I offer an exceptional local bottle of wine and direct them to my house manual for further reading about the local wine production.

Hosting has endless possibilities; you can tailor it to your preferences. For the right guests, every thoughtful detail will be appreciated and reflected in their reviews.

Happy hosting!