Guests want to Cancel but won't Cancel themselves.....?

Helen82
Level 3
Vancouver, Canada

Guests want to Cancel but won't Cancel themselves.....?

Hey all,

I'm a little new to this so please humor me here if this seems a little basic. I've had a reservation for almost a month for an 8 night stay. I received a notification from Airbnb last night, something along the lines of, "[insert guests name] is requesting YOU cancel" then the options in that message were, "Cancel the reservation (all host penalties apply) or confirm with Guest that you are still able to host them during these dates". I selected I am still able to host, because well, I am still able to host them- and I don't want to be charged or penalized if I am the one canceling.

Now I have received a message from the guests letting me know they are having some family troubles and will be unable to make the stay. I messaged them back and told them I was sorry to hear, take care, and also to make sure they cancel the reservation via airbnb. But the reservation is still active.

This just seems like a really weird option that Airbnb has for the guest to request that YOU cancel at YOUR expense. Surely there must be something on the guests end where they can cancel the reservation on their own without me having to cancel on my end. What's going on here that I'm missing? Advice?

Thank you in advance! 🙂

3 Replies 3
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

Do nothing - don't cancel. If they don't cancel they may lose the entire cost of their stay (depending on your cancellation policy). Sounds like they have changed their minds and just don't want to be penalised for doing so.

You can if you wish contact them via the platform and let the know that the earlier they cancel the better as if you are able to resell the nights then you are happy to refund most of their stay (depends on you really....)