Discrimination?

Joseph123
Level 2
Florence, KY

Discrimination?

Hey everyone.   I am a lawyer and singer from the Cincinnati area. I was recently featured on NPR Music and was invited to perform at a sold out private show on March 30th. I've heard positive and negative reviews about Airbnb but decided to give it a try and booked a room in Chicago's West Town.   The room is just a few blocks from the venue and was exactly what I was looking for.  The host waited until about 20 hours after the booking and contacted me stating,  "I can only book that unit to guests with past positive reviews. We've recently had some bad experiences with that unit and the owner is super spooked!"  

I thought that this was a bit strange as Airbnb seems to encourage new accounts and diversity.  As a black man, I have read stories about various complaints but wasn't sure what to think.  This put me in a very unfortunate predicament as the other few places near the location that I could've booked are no longer available.  How can I book a room to get feedback if places will not book me without any?  Any recommendations on how to handle this situation?

Thanks,

Joseph 

[Personal information hidden]

18 Replies 18
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

@Joseph123

Hi there...lots of hosts are wary of new users without any reviews and won't allow them to stay. That's not unusual.

In fact, AirBnB, even for Instant Booking, allows hosts to say what types of guests can use the feature: eg verified and/or with positive reviews from other hosts. Just as there are guests who will not book with hosts who do not have positive reviews from other guests.