Accidental Damage

Britny1
Level 2
Springdale, AR

Accidental Damage

Hello! I am new to AirBnB and just stayed in my first AirBnB this past week. While the experience was great, our dog accidentally damaged 2 doorknobs by chewing on them. We were unaware of this until our host reached out to us informing us of the damage. We offered to pay and/or replace the doorknobs. I still haven't heard back from the host. He ended up leaving a terrible review on my profile stating that he normally doesn't allow dogs, but in his description he stated the AirBnB was "dog friendly." I am just confused as to what to do. We didn't intentionally damage the doorknobs and we offered to replace them.  The host didn't even try to reconcile with us before he wrote the bad review. Now other hosts will see this and possibly not allow us (without the dog) to stay in their AirBnB. 

8 Replies 8
Cynthia-and-Chris1
Level 10
Vancouver, WA

What a bummer - and hasty of the hosts to write a bad review before giving you time to make it right.  If you still want to make things right, you can send the host the replacement cost through the Resolution Center

I read his review and it is negative, but I would also take a moment to respond to his review since other hosts will see it.  Something brief and polite like, "Dear Mr. Host - we are so sorry for the damage our dog caused.  As a show of good faith we have sent you the replacement cost via the Resolution Center.  We can assure you (and other hosts) we are responsible pet owners and it was never our intention to be deceptive."

A mature, polite response like that should help future host feel comfortable renting to you.  Let us know how it goes!

Thank you so much! I will definitely take your advice and politely respond and also send money for the damages through the Resolution Center! I will let you know how it goes! Thank you for your help! 

Glad to help 🙂