washing sheets and towels after hosting

Yara1
Level 1
New York, NY

washing sheets and towels after hosting

Dear Community, I am new to this. Is it normal to ask guests when they leave to strip the beds and leave sheets and towels on the machine? Do you ask them to wash and dry them or just leave them for the host to wash and dry afterwards?

35 Replies 35

I haven't had any complaints on a guest taking out the trash.  It's not a big deal

Jennifer178
Level 10
Philadelphia, PA

I rent a room in my house and do not charge a cleaning fee.  My booking fee is a bit higher than some whole house listings so they have paid already for my labor.  I have arthritis of various degrees in my right neck, arm and hand so someone else stripping the bed would make my life easier (making the bed would benefit me more) but I would never ask.  I have had many guest ask me if they should strip the bed and gather the towels and I always thank them for the lovely offer but say no. Some have done it anyway.  But almost every guest has straightened up the guest room and completely remade the bed so it looked like it did upon arrival.  If anyone knows a magical spell I can recite that makes the duvet get into the duvet cover on its own, I would be eternally grateful.

I find that most of my guests also make the bed before they leave.

This seems odd to me because surely they know I'm going to strip the bed and wash the linens, right? Why make the bed?

One couple gathered up all their towels and all the bedding and put it in a pile. That saved me a few minutes of stripping the bed and gathering everything together.

I certainly don't mind when people make the bed before leaving, but it sure feels like a wasted effort.

Jamie

Hi Jennifer,

To manage that duvet, you roll them together - duvet and inside out cover- ending at the duvet cover opening then flip the whole thing inside the duvet and begin to unroll...