cleaning fee

Carol80
Level 1
New Ross, Ireland

cleaning fee

I am new to Airbnb but not new to hosting.  In general are propertys returned clean after a weekly let?  I have decided not to charge a cleaning fee and request that guests return the property in the condition given.  I feel if I charge a fee there will be a chance of guests just leaving the property in a bad state...?  What has worked for my property in the past is getting a cleaning fee in cash on arrival that I will refund if property is returned as found??

What do other hosts think?

thanks Carol 

25 Replies 25
Gerry-And-Rashid0
Level 10
London, United Kingdom

So you are saying to each guest, it's up to you to leave the place clean for my next guest. 

Quite honestly, if I was staying there and you told me that  you would get the worst review possible! Horrified to say that you don't clean your properties as most are returned clean after a let.

And. you are not allowed to ask for cash from your guests on AirBnB - again they can refuse to do so quite rightly under AirBnB's terms - and you will be penalised by AirBnB.

It sounds like you want your own set of rules - not the way it works fortunately! 

(Am I  going crazy here...? We talk about responsible hosting, etc...)

You really need to consider whether you are suitable for AirBnB - and if so, be very clear in your description that guests are expected to clean the property before leaving to the same level of cleanliness that I guess it once was clean on some distant occasion in the past.