Responding to Inquiries

Dailahn0
Level 2
Philadelphia, PA

Responding to Inquiries

Greetings Fellow Hosts,

I'm a new host and want to know how you guys feel about responding to inquires with a pre-approval.  I've been using airbnb for a few years as a guest and never noticed this before but as a host it feels awkward.  As a guest I would not want a pre-approval response to an inquiry. If I'm inquiring I'm looking around and making up my mind and feel that a pre-approval is presumptuous on the part of the host.  As a host I feel like I'm putting pressure on the guest to book with me and I don't like that either.  The emails from airbnb reminding me to take an action makes me feel like if I don't do something it will reflect badly on my ratings as a host. This happened when I was having a continuing conversation with a prospective guest when the time limit expired and consequenty gave me a black mark with airbnb.

I'd like to know how more experienced hosts feel about this.

8 Replies 8
Ed-and-Hugh0
Level 10
Miami, FL

I think you are confusing different issues. For an inquiry (which is what you mentioned) you merely have to respond promptly. There is no pressure on you to preapprove. If you decide to preapprove your guest is under no obligation to accept. If you don't want to preapprove then don't.

But, Ed & Hugh, I was getting e-mails (and I meant to make it plural) from airbnb requesting I do something; either preapprove or refuse, and that felt like pressure to me.  If it was only a matter of a response, I did respond to the prospective guests with an e-mail addressing their particular question. The airbnb request that I do more felt like pressure.