Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Amber1
Level 7
Key West, FL

Writing a Story on What Guests do That Drive Hosts Crazy and Need Feedback!

Hi everyone-

I work as a travel writer and my editor has asked that I write a piece on the top things that guests do that Airbnb hosts hate.

Yes, it's a click-bait article but it is for a major publication, so there is some potential here for it to serve as a guide to prevent some of the common things that frustrate us.

After hosting more than 300 guests, I know that NOT READING the description is on my list! 

What's on yours? Thanks in advance!!

32 Replies 32

Regarding the request for extras, I'm fairly new, but one of my first guests messaged me to ask if I had a washer and dryer available.

Unfortunately, my washer and dryer aren't in a common area of my home, so I don't offer that amenity to my guests. I told him that I didn't have washer and dryer available, but that there were a couple of laundromats within a mile or so of my home.

He didn't respond.

A day or so later I bumped my daily rate up a few bucks because it was clear to me that I was asking too little for the room I was renting. A day or so after that, I get a message from the same guy that said that they'd decided to stay at mine, but that now the price was higher, and would I change the price back to where it had been before.

I did, but I think in retrospect, and in the future, I will simply tell them that demand has increased and the price went up. I should know this by now, since I've worked in the service industry, but quite often, the people who want extras are also those people who are only willing to pay the minimum amount.

Jamie

Kath9
Level 10
Albany, Australia

Hi Amber,

It's probably too late to respond to this now, but I so resonate with what other people have said! The things that drive me crazy are: