PLEASE HELP!! How do I find my Individual Tax Identification number (ITIN) as a non-resident?

Chayuth0
Level 1
Cambridge, MA

PLEASE HELP!! How do I find my Individual Tax Identification number (ITIN) as a non-resident?

I hosted my room last year and 30% of my income was withheld by the US government. Now I'm filing a tax return and it asks for either my Social Security Number or my Individual Tax Identification number (ITIN). Of course as a student I don't have the SSN.

I wonder where do I find my Individual Tax Identification number? Did Airbnb assign that number to us?

Thank you so much!

6 Replies 6
Momi0
Level 10
Honolulu, HI

HI @Chayuth0

First, calm down.  Its not a big deal. All you had to do was google this and it wouldve sent you the link through the IRS to file the form.

Are you not aware that its your responsibility to file your status with the IRS to get this number?  All you had to do was go onto the IRS website and search out the topic on how to get this ITIN number. There is a form to be filled out and its very easy.

Its not Airbnb responsibility to assign anything to you.  Maybe as a student, you could take the time to read the terms and conditions of Airbnb to understand what they truly are responsible for.  That way, you are educated in the best way.

IRS also provides a toll free number to call to get help on filing your taxes as a NON RESIDENT.  All you have to do is check out their website too.  Good luck.

If you feel that me or another host have helped you, feel free to click on the "thumbs up" button at the end of any post. Thank you so much.

Aloha, Momi

Great way to contact Airbnb or via Twitter at AirbnbHelp / Facebook

Thank you sooo much Momi and sorry that you seemed to be agitated by my post.

Your post is very helpful.