New host wondering about guests requesting a discount

Jennifer111
Level 2
New York, NY

New host wondering about guests requesting a discount

I am three weeks into hosting, I have had 7 guests so far, all good experiences.  I am wondering about a booking situation right now...I have someone booked who is brand new to airbnb,she just joined April 2016, and its not going smoothly.  There were problems with the reservation, beginner confusion, long waits for responses.  Then she wanted to add two days onto her reservation, I opened the days up on the calendar, and she did not book them, so I did the thing where I altered her reservation and she had to accept it,(I forgot what thats called)  After a long wait for payment, airbnb said her credit card wouldn't go through, so I texted her that info.  Now she says she's using a different card but would please like a discount.  I'm new to airbnb but not to business, and my instincts are telling me this is a very high maintenance guest and it might not go well.  But maybe discounts are a really common thing at airbnb, I don't know because I'm new at this.  I do know that I'm the lowest price in my neighborhood.  I'd love to hear any thoughts anyone has about this!  I haven't pre-approved her reservation request for the extra two days, and I almost wish I could cancel the whole thing....any thoughts on that?

11 Replies 11
Janice1
Level 6
Tamaterau, New Zealand

@Jennifer111

Your story raises a number of red flags for me.

I have learned from the posts in this forum that guests who are demanding prior to their stay can be a nightmare to host. I would not offer any discounts and in fact I would decline in this instance.

I've read many stories about these types of guests often leaving bad feedback as a parting thank you for taking up large amounts of your time.

I don't offer discounts.  I'm relatively new to airbnb also, however, non of the 11 groups I've hosted have asked for a discount.