Airbnb "Million dollar liability policy" is BS

Genevieve37
Level 2
Austin, TX

Airbnb "Million dollar liability policy" is BS

I had a theft in my home over a week ago and contacted Airbnb and the police immediately. Over $3000 worth of electronics were stolen from my house while I was sleeping! Airbnb said a case manager would be assigned and call me in the next 24-48 hours. Well 72 hours passed and I started calling every morning with them saying it's high priority blah blah, when obviously it's not because now it has been over a week and I still have heard nothing.

I have been doing Airbnb for over 2 years now and used to love and brag about how awesome it was. Now I HATE Airbnb and can see they don't give 2 flips about host protection. I even had problems getting $10 for a ruined hand towel so it's stupid of me to expect they would come through on $3000 for my loss. They literally have done nothing to help and don't respond to my emails.

Without hosts they would not have a business, so they should really try and pay more attention to their customers. If you are a host and are considering or doing Airbnb thinking you are protected with their liability policy think again. They don't care about anything but themselves and $$$

25 Replies 25
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

@Genevieve37

I assume you mean the Host Guarantee and not the Liability Insurance.

You did not say how these items were stolen, a guest debunked in the middle of the night with them?

David

Yes host guarantee. Yes literally this guest had a sob story about how his family member died and was driving through so would be checking in late. He came in at 4am, stole anything of value, and left, then canceled his reservation and deleted his account. Airbnb has not done one thing about it including just contacting me. If they would just contact me like they said then I wouldn't be as mad even if they were pretedning to care, but they just dont care at all.

Branka-and-Silvia0
Level 10
Zagreb, Croatia