What is NYC & Brooklyn High/Low Season for Travelers?

Marcella26
Level 6
New York, NY

What is NYC & Brooklyn High/Low Season for Travelers?

Hey fellow NY Hosts!  I have a Bed & Brekfast in Brooklyn that I opened this past March 2017.  Since this is my first year hosting in NY (5 years hosting on airbnb total) every month is a learning experience on demand and interest.  This summer, which I'm guessing is high season, I was booked every night 3 weeks in advance and I had my prices high.  October slowed down major for me and November is even slower.  I wanted to know from any NY hosts who have experiencesd hosting through Autumn and Winter if:

1. it drasticaly changes for them every year?  
  2. I thought NY is always a year round interest for travelers, but am I wrong?  
  3. I'm curious whether simply people do not travel to NY in the cold months so it wouldn't matter if I lower my rates, or...
  4. if I lower my rates $10-20 less per night would I then get back to full occupancy?  
  5. Is being in Brookyn and not Manhattan a factor?

Any insight you could give I would appreciate and let me know what your busy months and slow months are 🙂

Thanks!

Marcella

6 Replies 6
Jacklyn1
Level 3
New York, NY

Hello Marcella,

I just wanted to say I am a fellow NYC Co-host and our bookings have slowed down too.

We are in Queens near JFK.

We are normally fully booked 3 - 4 weeks in advance since starting in March 2017.

But now we have a few dates available in November, which is unusual for us. 

I think that there are a couple of factors.  For us, there are more hosts in the area. And I also found this:

According to the NYCEDC hotel occupancy rates drop in November, go back up in December, then fall off a cliff for January and February. They start coming back up in Mid March to normal levels. 

https://www.nycedc.com/economic-data/travel-and-tourism

Let me know your thoughts.

Hello, Marcell.