Share links with guest.

Mike225
Level 2
Alexandria, VA

Share links with guest.

Many times i send guest links to web sites for info and even sending them a link with in airbnb about another place i offer if one is not suitable and airbnb blocks the linsk. This is super annoying. How can we get rid of this? It makes it hard to be a good effective host. 

10 Replies 10

You cannot.  This is a safety feature that Airbnb uses.  You will have to send the names of the websites you want to showcase for your guests, even then they will block "Google Maps" and "Youtube".  They will also strip pictures and HTML.  These are also safety features.  

Thats fine there web site super un user friendly. I mean youtube, if i want to send a video to someone of my place like a tour they block it. Come on. I get secutiy. its not hard to code this. I am a coder my self. No way to fake a link for youtube. Just makes it super hard to share info. But guess not much we can do.

They do this to prevent hosts from linking potential guests to external websites so they can do the transaction outside of Airbnb (either to avoid the service fees Airbnb applies or because they're trying to scam the guests).  Once you have a confirmed reservation with a guest, Airbnb will provide an email address you can use to email the guest any links to things.

But why do they block links to other Airbnb listings ?

Often I have an enquiry that would better suite another listing.

Instead of losing the guest who may then run off and book on another platform, allow to refer them to another "own" listing !

Exactly, i had one guest who wanted to see my other places could not send them links. its crazy and it forced me to reach them out side of thr site and go to whatsapp for talking ot the client. This dose not stop us from reaching client only makes it hard to do our job. There is alway s a way to sent contact info to talk to them in another way in a message. You just make it harder.