Unpleasant Start to Hosting experience

Stella40
Level 2
Toronto, Canada

Unpleasant Start to Hosting experience

Hello all,

I'm a complete newbie in this Airbnb world...so much to know and so many details and nuances.

My situation pertains to Automatic Booking Feature - I didn't know I had it on (went live 2 days ago) and so people booked, but my price was set extremely low and I didn't factor in a security deposit and cleaning fees and other things. Now I'd like to cancel, but there I'm warned about cancellation fees and *negative* review of some sort. I'm so discouraged by this start that I'm thinking of taking the traditional route to renting and de-activating my account. I'm not sure why I am at risk of being penalized for wanting to cancel a listing a week in advance and another a month in advance. Most people have beginner glitches, these are mine. Can anyone suggest please how to go about it? Thanks in advance. 

16 Replies 16
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

All you can really do is call AirBnB and see if they will accept your I did not know what I was doing.

In the meantime snooze your listing at least whilst you work out how the system operates.

David

Thanks for the reply, David. I take it you're referring to their customer service dept. 

@Stella40

Exactly, give them a call. Seems to happen a lot so not sure how understanding they still are.

David
Helen3
Level 10
Bristol, United Kingdom

As @David126 says why not go in and snooze your listing while you understand how the system operates.

How would you feel if a week before a trip you find yourself without somewhere to stay because a host hadn't set up their listing properly and decided to cancel your booking.

It's not the guests fault that you didn't set the right price, add in a cleaning fee or tick to have a security deposit. Unfortunately now all a guest will see is that as a new host you cancelled your first bookings and this unfortunately put them off.