Tip envelope

Lakota0
Level 2
Hyde Park, NY

Tip envelope

Hi, I'm new to AirBNB- I used to charge a cleaning fee now I don't , should I leave a tip envelope in their room?  I only clean before and after they leave , not during their stay- also I picked up a guest at the train station 

5 Replies 5
Emiel1
Level 10
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

@Lakota0 

In my country it will be experienced as "uncomfortable".

Ana1136
Level 10
Ohrid, Macedonia (FYROM)

@Lakota0 no you shouldn't in my opinion. What will the tip be for? They don't care if you clean after them or not and it is a basic that the place is clean when they arrive so it's not like you are doing them a favor. If you decide to pick guests up and you want to get paid you should add a fee for that. Set up your price so that it covers all your expenses and instead of envelope for tips leave a box of cookies or a bottle of wine 🙂 

Just saw this message- I asked this question back in June.  I opened in May of 2019.  I don't charge a cleaning fee.  One of my guests left a $10 tip for me and suggested I leave an envelope.  So I ordered professional  gratuity  envelopes and wrote on there, please don't feel obligated to leave anything, a guest suggested that I do.   Low and behold I made $485 in gratuities.  

Kaylee18
Level 10
Hamilton, Canada

@Lakota0  I would agree with the above comments. When I rent a place I do not expect to leave a tip. If you are looking for a cleaning fee, then just add it back in 🙂

Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico