Reservations

Gloria688
Level 2
Hamilton, Canada

Reservations

Looking for suggestions. I am new to hosting. When you have guests staying a few days or a week, how often, ic at all, do you go in and change the linens, towels, etc and clean up?

3 Replies 3
Sarah977
Level 10
Sayulita, Mexico

@Gloria688  I for one, never go into the guest space (in my case, it's a private room/bath in my home) when they are in residence, unless they ask me to for some reason. I offer clean sheets and towels after one week, but I ask if they'd like me to change them out, or would prefer to do it themselves (I'll tailor the linen change to the length of stay and circumstances- if they have  10 day reservation, I'll offer at the halfway mark, 5 days, and I had a guest who was sick all day in bed her 4th day here on a 2 week reservation, so I offered her clean linens the next day). All my guests, for over 3 years of hosting, have said they'd do it themselves, which tells me guests like to maintain their privacy. I do leave them a broom and dustpan, a clean-up cloth and some cleaning supplies, but it's up to them if they want to use them- I certainly don't expect my guests to do any heavy-duty cleaning, but they might not want to walk around on a sandy floor.

It's best not to lead Airbnb guests to think of Airbnbs as hotels with maid service. 

Of course, right now, with the coronavirus isolation directives, you wouldn't want to be going in to clean or change out linens at all during a guest stay, and would need to wait 3 days after a guest left to go in to clean and sterilize. And shouldn't be hosting at all if you have a shared-home listing.

Hosts who take longer term reservations do recommend arranging to go to clean once every 2 weeks or so, just so you can make sure the guest isn't living like a pig in there, and if they are, keep the mess and dirt at bay. 

@Gloria688