I'm New and I got my first booking.

Jamie52
Level 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

I'm New and I got my first booking.

I just got my first booking on Airbnb.

I only launched my listing a few hours ago.

About one hour later after the listing was launched I got a message saying someone has made a reservation for New Year. I really hadn't yet worked out how to set different prices for custom days, or that the automatic pricing would offer almost exactly the same price as a normal day. I am really not at all happy with the price that has been booked. I didn't even get a chance to evaluate the price before the booking was made, as I seem to be on an automatic acceptance response for reservations.

Basically this means I'm missing out on a lot as my flat is in Edinburgh and the New Year's celebrations are very popular and easily should command a much higher the average rent. Approximately double the usual rent.

As it is my first day you know I really am a complete novice to the system. I really want to cancel the booking as the guest is not prepared to offer a higher price, but it says I will get an automatic review.

Is there really no way out of this as it happened literally one hour after my listing was first published.

Any help would be very kind,

Thank you!

Jamie

15 Replies 15
David126
Level 10
Como, CO

Take your listing down until you are ready to go live.

Look up the penalties for a host cancelling, my view is that you should put this one down to experience, your issue not the guests.

David
Susan151
Level 10
Somerville, MA

It is really important not to list until you have all of the details worked out. This includes price, photos, booking preferences, instant-book specifications or not, house rules, etc. You can snooze the listing until you have this all sorted out, but I think you will not be able to increase the holiday periods that have already been booked. If you do cancel, AirBNB will block the dates and you won't be able to book anyone.

Linda108