HELP - guest broke house rules HOW much is tolerable?

Ann151
Level 2
Missouri, United States

HELP - guest broke house rules HOW much is tolerable?

So, I'm new to Airbnb.  The group this weekend - five former wrestlers/wrestling coapches in town for NCAA Champoinships did not follow basic house rules.  They stayed in my home (I live here too) for four nights. During that time, I only saw them one time other than check in.  They left in the morning and came home drunk every night around 3:00 a.m.  They checked in very late - 1:30 a.m. and were intent on finding a 3:00 a.m. bar.  I went through the "orientation" but quite honestly, think they were more concerned about finding a bar.  I think most of their behavior is due to annebriation.

Aside from the noise and obvious disrespect for the living space (they had the entire third floor - about 800 square feet and bathroom access on 2nd and 3rd floors), my biggest issue is that they didn't lock the house on three occassions.  One day, I returned home from work to find the back door unlocked.  Twice, I woke in the morning to find the house had not been locked when they returned in the late evening. The door is on a key code pad - pressing the lock button when leaving engages the deadbolt.  Also, they are each give a code to re-enter - the four digit combination of the month and day of their birthday.  One set of back-up keys was given to the oldest member of the group.

They never turned on the home security alarm even though I go through the process with them and have instructions on the wall.

There are other more minor house rules that were not followed. They didn't use coasters and caused damage to a coffee table; left the bedroom doors open despite posted signs asking that bedroom doors be closed to prevent the cats from entering the sleeping areas. Vomit left in the toilet. Half full beer cans were left in the trash....some of this is typical guy stuff?  Who knows.